Is It ID? or ego?

Is It ID? or ego?

Purnima-ln

I happen to be rendering a ‘demo’ at one very reputed company. The session was on and one attendee walked in a little late. It is quite normal in todays professional scenario to be late. As she walks in with her laptop I smiled. It was really amazing to see how my smile reached her went through her out of the door. She walked in, I hope it touched some one outside the door :-).

She walked by, took a chair next to mine, opened her laptop, hit on the enter key, opened her outlook checked her mails. How very dedicated! I waited for the dedication to stop and for her to glance at me so that my ‘demo’ continues. But she was so involved that she appeared to be in a room with no humans around. After a pause, I turned to the others and continued my demo. Every time she looked at one of us and smiled, I felt like a ‘alien’. The question popped out in my mind is it the ID? or the ego? In the next half hour she checked her mails a dozen times, shot a few questions, and then left the room,

Why is it so? why are people so?

Sigmund Freud said that, personality of human beings is made up of 3 states – The ID, The Ego and the ‘super ego’. ID is that part of the personality which is like the evil, the bad, the animal like feeling,

Ego is that part of the personality that is human. The part which know good and bad. But this good and bad is as given by the people, the circumstance or environment. So what is good for one can be bad for others.

But the super ego is beyond all this, the clean mind which tells you to stop the wrong. It prevents your ‘ID’ to act, it warm your ‘ego’, it set you right irrespective of what the world taught you.

So why is it so? why are people so? its not ID! so their super ego is at odd?

One thought on “Is It ID? or ego?

  1. Reblogged this on My Mind's Eye and commented:

    It was really amazing to see how my smile reached her went through her out of the door. She walked in, I hope it touched some one outside the door. People are different, situation are different.. but same attitudes.. is this normal acceptable culture in companies today?

Leave a Reply

